17th October 2019

These posts were originally posted on the MoneySavingForums (a UK money management site), I am moving my journals across to WordPress to have them in chronological order. I’m not sure how much of other people’s words I’m allowed to copy across from one site to another, so in some sections I may summarise conversations.

Payday!

I took £25 from my groceries budget and made put it into a new “household” category. Not really sure how much for that so we’ll start there.

I’ve put aside £40 for a new coat – it’s getting pretty chilly.

I’ve made a new category I called “Human Grooming” (because it amuses me) and assigned it £15 – and dropped the Dog Grooming category to £20.

I made a new category called “Dog Food & Treats” and assigned it £10 per month. I honestly have no idea. The bags I buy are £6 a time but I can’t remember if I only buy one a month.

I’ve created a new category for Holiday-Brother’s idea and am putting £50 per month into it until I figure out what’s going on there. I wish I didn’t have to do it but I don’t know what I’m going to be required to hand over yet. Worse case scenario, it’ll make it’s way into my Emergency Savings at a later date. On a related note, I’ve dropped my Emergency Savings contribution to £50 per month. Which I am not happy about.

I’ve overfilled my “Stuff I forgot to budget for” cateogry this month, with these new categories I’m not sure if I forgot anything. Edit: not over filled this category by as much as I hoped, as I realised there was stuff I’d forgotten �� It’ll get better with time. In a couple of weeks I’ll have paid off one of my cards. Maybe I’ll get this mess with holiday-brother sorted out. If I dare look as far ahead as January…. but then I’m falling into the dreaded forecasting trap. Best stick with the amounts on hand.

Second Edit:
In October 2017, the day before payday, I had -£1599.45 in my current account.
In October 2018, the day before payday, I’d made some progress and had -£946.22 in my current account.
In February 2019,!the day before payday, I had -£1128.55 in my current account (my debt increased again when I moved city).
~*~
This month, October 2019, the day before payday, I had +£180.13 in my current account. Those £ had jobs and purpose, they weren’t just… spare. But my account had a positive balance, and I am starting to earn interest rather than fees.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s